May 5th, 2008 by Administrator
NetLibrary: The New Paradigm for Financial Markets: The Credit Crisis of 2008 and What It Means by George Soros (PublicAffairs, 2008).
To view the netLibrary eBook of the Month, go to the library home page, click on Quick Research Links and choose netLibrary from the list. The eBook will be accessible from the lower right corner of the netLibrary home page.
PsychiatryOnline:
Clinial Manual for Assessment and Treatment of Suicidal Patients by John A. Chiles, M.D., and Kirk D. Strosahl, Ph.D. (2005).
To view the PsychiatryOnline eBook of the Month, go to the library home page, click on Articles, Research & More and choose PsychiatryOnlinefrom the list. The eBook will be accessible from the lower left of the PsychiatryOnline home page.
Posted in Databases, Library Website, News, eBooks | No Comments »
May 2nd, 2008 by Administrator
Due to inaccuracies, do not use the citation tools available in our library’s databases to generate your MLA, APA or other formatted citations.
To properly cite your sources for a works cited or bibliography, use the following sources:
- Your textbook or assignment instructions may include models for proper citation
- Official manuals for MLA, APA and other styles
- Checkout at the MCC Library for 2 hour in library use
- Use at the MCC Writing Center (Student Center 222)
- Visit the Writing Center for assistance with citations and additional academic writing skills (Student Center 222)
- Reputable web sites for citations styles (listed on our Works Cited & Sources page)
Posted in Databases, News, Tips | No Comments »
April 11th, 2008 by Administrator
For 2 hours between 9pm and 11pm on Saturday, April 12, ELibrary and ProQuest Newsstand will be unavailable due to maintenance.
Posted in Database Outages, Databases, News | No Comments »
April 1st, 2008 by Administrator
Search Texas libraries while also searching TexShare online databases
with the Library of Texas (LoT)
This particular link (LoT) is only open to our MCC patrons (faculty, staff and students); however, if you go to your local library, you can also have access to the Library of Texas.
Also, if you go directly to http://libraryoftexas.org/ from your home computer, you will be able to search participating Texas library catalogs simultaneously.
Library of Texas is provided through the Texas State Library to provide to Texas residents the opportunity to search TexShare databases in one interface as well as Texas library catalogs. Related to this service is the TexShare Card allowing you to borrow materials from participating Texas libraries.
Posted in Databases, Featured Resource, TexShare | No Comments »
January 30th, 2008 by Administrator
The library has acquired three new electronic resources beginning January 2008.
1. Oxford English Dictionary Online: The OED is recognized as the authority on the evolution of the English language. The contents of the OED provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of more than half a million words in past and current use. The online version provides access to the 2nd edition of the OED plus contents of the additions published between 1993 and 1997 and quarterly revisions. For more information about the benefits of the online OED, visit the publisher’s FAQs. You will find links to this database in the following locations on the library web site: 1) Where Do I Start? Encyclopedias & Reference, 2) A-Z List of Article & Research Databases, and 3) Databases by Type: Encyclopedias & Reference.
2 . Cambridge Collections Online, including The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics and The Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture. You will find links to this database in the following locations: 1) A-Z List of Article & Research Databases, 2) Databases by Subject: Literature & Humanities, Literary Biography and Religion and Philosophy and 3) Databases by Type: Electronic Books.
Descriptions from the publisher’s site: “The Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics collection offers over 1500 comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts and designed for student readers. For
the author Companions each writer is placed in literary and historical context; their major works are analysed, either in separate chapters or grouped according to theme, and their influence on later writers assessed. The generic and topical Companions cover periods of English literature such as Old English or the Victorian Novel, and literary
genres such as Modernism or Greek Tragedy, giving the student vital contextual information about political, social, religious and artistic relationships. The Companions to Classical Civilisation examine key periods and aspects of the civilisations of ancient Greece and Rome.”
“The Cambridge Companions series offers specially-commissioned collections of essays which are intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists. Addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism, this online collection contains over 1000 downloadable essays taken from the Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion and Culture (more than 100 volumes).”
3. Acceda Noticias (Newsbank): Provides online access to the complete full-text of more than 50 Spanish-language newspapers, newswires, magazines, and transcripts from major US cities and Spanish-speaking countries including Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Columbia, Ecuador, Mexico, Peru and Spain. All content was written originally in Spanish, rather than translated from other languages. You will find links to this database in the following locations: 1) A-Z List of Article & Research Databases, 2) Databases by Subject: Languages, and 3) Resources by Subject: Spanish Language Resources.
Posted in Databases, Featured Resource, Library Website, News | 1 Comment »
January 15th, 2008 by Administrator
If you are attempting to search one of the MCC Library’s Gale databases (Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Health and Wellness Resource Center, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Scribner and Twayne’s) when using Internet Explorer version 7, you may notice that the individual database screen does not load.
Until this problem can be resolved, you will need to hit Refresh (F5)
on your IE7 browser once after trying to get into the database. You may also choose to use an alternate browser, such as Mozilla, Opera, or Netscape.
Posted in Database Outages, Databases, Library Website, News | No Comments »
January 5th, 2008 by Administrator
At the beginning of January, enhancements were made to the interface of WilsonWeb databases in a release called CX Edition.
Our WilsonWeb databases include:
Biography Reference Bank
Business Full Text
Education Full Text
Essay & General Literature Index
General Science Full Text
Humanities Full Text
OmniFile Full Text Mega
Readers’ Guide Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text
View WilsonWeb CX Edition sample screens at www.hwwilson.com/Documentation/WilsonWeb/frameless.htm or login to one of the databases listed at: http://www.mclennan.edu/library/dbases/dbcoll.html#ww under WilsonWeb.
Noteworthy features
- A “Frameless” Interface–for faster loading, and better integration with the frames of your institution’s website.
- Enhanced Layout & Graphics: Clearer screens and more accessible tools, for quicker, more intuitive searching.
- Navigational Improvements: New Full Text, Page Image, and Peer Reviewed tabs in results let you isolate those records at a click. In Full Display mode, you can now also choose between scrolling through results or clicking from record to record–navigating the way you find most comfortable.
- Simplified Print, Email & Save functions: New buttons–Save This, Email This, and Print This–capture not just the citation, but also any available full text, saving a step. You can also use the Print Email Save button in the banner for simplified and complete functionality as well.
- Simplified Search History screen allows you to more handily review, update, combine and organize saved searches, and receive new information on any search in email alerts.
Posted in Databases, News | No Comments »
December 14th, 2007 by Administrator
Even though the library building will be CLOSED (December 15 - January 6), students can still use our 24/7 online resources and get reference assistance via email.
1. Students login from off-campus with their MCC username and password to use our online resources. Please contact the library by using our Ask a Librarian form if you have trouble logging in or using the databases from home.
Username: first name initial + last name initial + student ID number (located on student ID card)
Example: Ima Student (ID # 0012345) = is0012345
Password: 6 digit birth date
Example: 010191
2. To search our online resources, you might begin at the following places on the library web site:
Posted in Databases, Library Services, Minimester, News | No Comments »
December 5th, 2007 by Administrator
The NetLibrary Ebook of the Month is entitled Younger You: Unlock the Hidden Power of Your Brain to Look and Feel 15 Years Younger by Eric R. Braverman (2007).
“Discover how you can:
- Get a restful, restorative night’s sleep and have energy that lasts all day long
- Lift your mood by increasing your natural hormone levels
- Improve your heart health with natural supplements, herbs, and spices
- Increase your muscle mass, boost your memory, build your bones, save your skin, and much more!”
To access the NetLibrary Ebook of the Month, go to the library home page and click on Quick Links and then NetLibrary. Click on book located in the lower right corner of the NetLibrary screen.
The PsychiatryOnline Ebook of the Month is entitled
Professionalism and Ethics: Q & A Self-Study Guide for Mental Health Professionals by Laura Weiss Roberts, M.D., M.A., and Jinger G. Hoop, M.D., M.F.A. (2008).
“This first book of its kind for the medical profession brings the real-world translation of ethics to the care of patients, conduct of protocols, and training of professionals. An interactive, case-oriented approach to mental health ethics, Professionalism and Ethics: Q & A Self-Study Guide for Mental Health Professionals consists of questions and answers developed by the authors and fourteen contributors from backgrounds as diverse as family medicine, research ethics, social psychology, and public health.”
To access the PsychiatryOnline Ebook of the Month, go to the library home page and click on Articles, Research & More. Then select PsychiatryOnline from the drop down list.
Posted in Databases, News, eBooks | No Comments »
November 2nd, 2007 by Administrator
The NetLibrary Ebook of the Month is entitled Tree of Souls: The Mythology of Judaism by Howard Schwartz.
“Schwartz, a renowned collector and teller of traditional Jewish tales, illuminates the previously unexplored territory of Jewish mythology. This pioneering anthology is essential for anyone interested in the Hebrew Bible, Jewish faith and culture, and world mythology.”
To access the NetLibrary Ebook of the Month, go to the library home page and click on Quick Links and then NetLibrary. Click on book located in the lower right corner of the NetLibrary screen.
The PsychiatryOnline Ebook of the Month is entitled
Medical Illness and Schizophrenia edited by Jonathan M. Meyer, M.D., and Henry A. Nasrallah, M.D.
“Developed to fill a critical gap in the literature, Medical Illness and Schizophrenia is an important volume for any clinician who encounters patients with chronic severe mental illness. In addition, it serves to underscore the need to provide integrated medical and psychiatric care to this vulnerable population.”
To access the PsychiatryOnline Ebook of the Month, go to the library home page and click on Articles, Research & More. Then select PsychiatryOnline from the drop down list.
Posted in Databases, News, eBooks | No Comments »